https://www.iaa.de/en/iaa/

Experience the IAA Cars 2017

From September 14 to 24, the 67th International Motor Show (IAA) will open its doors in Frankfurt am Main to show you the latest trends in cars and mobility.

Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel will open the IAA Cars 2017 on September 14. Two days later, from September 16, the IAA will be open to the general public every day from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. The slogan “Future now” focuses on the megatrends of connected and automated driving, electric mobility and the urban mobility concepts of tomorrow. A large number of world premieres and innovations will be unveiled. Visitors to the IAA can discover and experience yet more highlights, including passenger car demonstrations, activities to join in, test drives, an obstacle course (the “Parcours”), special shows, symposiums and congresses, plus famous racing drivers and other VIPs at the exhibitors’ stands – the IAA has something for everyone.

The IAA in figures

The IAA Cars is a superlative event every time. At the IAA Cars 2015 around 1,100 exhibitors from 39 countries presented their innovations on an area of 230,000 square meters. With 219 world premieres, it again enhanced its position as the leading international trade show for mobility. In all, nearly 932,000 visitors flooded onto the exhibition grounds in Frankfurt am Main. Their average age was 34. The main motivation for visiting the show was “seeing cars you don’t see anywhere else.”

Climb in, join in, experience cars

The IAA offers more than just looking at and sitting in new cars. Numerous brand new models from various makers will be available for test drives including freeway driving and Frankfurt’s inner city. An expert will be present during each test drive to answer questions and give advice. The challenging off-road circuit will set visitors’ pulses racing as experienced professionals drive them over extreme inclines, lumps and bumps, and pot holes in off-road vehicles and SUVs.

And at the many special shows of course everything centers on cars: “The Wild 70s” exhibition takes a journey through history and presents numerous classic cars. The popular model car collectors’ fair “Automania” on the first IAA weekend invites visitors into the fascinating world of miniature vehicles. It is regarded by enthusiasts and collectors of classic model cars throughout Europe as the number one fair of its kind. There will also be plenty to entertain the youngest visitors – including the children’s movie theater, a play area, and gripping competitions on the large serpentine Carrera model race track – so the IAA’s wide range of events provides lots of interest and fun for children and teenagers. You will find the complete program for the IAA 2017 here.

Discover the New Mobility World 2017

The New Mobility World is once again showcasing the future of mobility at the IAA. With its three event formats HALL, FORUM and PARCOURS, the NMW will run until September 17 in Hall 3.1, and during the entire IAA on the central open-air “Agora,” combining a large number of exhibitions, conferences and live demonstrations into a unique experience.

Here visitors will meet practitioners and pioneering thinkers from the automotive manufacturers and suppliers and from numerous technology companies and start-ups. The attendees will includes firms such as Facebook, Kaspersky Lab, BlaBlaCar, IBM, Moia, Siemens, Telekom, SAP and the Daimler subsidiaries Moovel, MyTaxi and Car2Go. They will present practical solutions and discuss the topics of the connected car, automated driving, e-mobility, urban mobility and mobility services.

History of the IAA

The 67th IAA is not the 67th IAA in Frankfurt. Originally Berlin was the place where the public could see and admire new cars. The first German motor show was the “Auto-Revue” with precisely eight motor cars displayed at Berlin’s Hotel Bristol. Until 1911 there was an IAA almost every year – in 1905, 1906, and twice in 1907. The exhibitions were interrupted by the First World War. After the end of the war, the IAA was initially a purely national event but it included motorcycles for the first time. International motor shows then made a comeback – in Cologne, Leipzig, and Berlin, where the last show took place in 1939.

In the early years after the Second World War, cars were exhibited at the Technical Export Fair in Hannover. Berlin had the honor of hosting the IAA one last time – the 35th IAA; after that, Frankfurt became the unrivalled favorite and every two years it is the arena for automotive dreams. In 1991, commercial vehicles disappeared from the motor show as the VDA decided to divide the fair into two and to showcase trucks and buses one year later in Hannover. Ever since, the IAA Commercial Vehicles has taken place in even-numbered years in Hannover, and the IAA Cars in odd-numbered years in Frankfurt am Main.

Start your career at the IAA

Schoolchildren, students and specialists who want a career in the automotive industry and are looking for contacts with high-caliber employers can visit the exhibition sections “job and career” and “AutoBerufe” (“Automotive professions”). Well-known firms from the sector are offering these groups interviews and will give enthusiastic automobile-oriented applicants some insights into their future field of work. There is a daily program of lectures on professional development, a multimedia “job wall” showing vacancies at the exhibitors, and a lounge for face-to-face discussions. One of the highlights is also the “goING” stand: goING is an initiative of the VDA bringing companies and young people together to talk about going into engineering as a profession. Teams from “Formula Student” will also be present with their racing cars to give insights into the exciting interface between theory and practice.

Advance ticket sales have already started

A day ticket for the IAA 2017 costs 14 euros from the cash desks during the week, and 16 euros on the weekends. Concessionary tickets costing 7.50 euros are available for apprentices, schoolchildren, students, persons doing German federal voluntary service, and for recipients of German unemployment benefit type II, upon presentation of appropriate ID. An afternoon ticket (available after 3 p.m.) on September 18 to 22, 2017, costs 10 euros (concessions 4.50 euros). If you want to avoid waiting in line at the exhibition venue, you can buy tickets online in advance here – for two euros less than at the cash ´desks. Advance ticket sales have already started.

The IAA 2017 on the Web

Follow the 67th IAA Cars on social media and our social wall using the hashtag #IAA2017. You can also learn about new developments and other interesting facts directly via @iaamesse on Twitter or on www.fb.com/IAAMesse.

https://www.iaa.de/iaa/

Die IAA Pkw 2017

Vom 14. bis 24. September öffnet die 67. Internationale Automobil-Ausstellung (IAA) in Frankfurt am Main ihre Pforten und zeigt Besuchern aus aller Welt die neuesten Trends rund um die Themen Automobil und Mobilität.

Am 14. September wird Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel die IAA Pkw 2017 feierlich eröffnen. Zwei Tage später, ab dem 16. September, ist die IAA dann auch für das breite Publikum täglich von 9 bis 19 Uhr zugänglich. Unter dem Motto „Zukunft erleben“ stehen die Megatrends vernetztes und automatisiertes Fahren, Elektromobilität sowie urbane Mobilitätskonzepte von morgen im Fokus. Besucher können sich dazu auf zahlreiche Weltpremieren und bislang ungesehene Innovationen freuen. Dazu wird es viele weitere Highlights zu erleben und zu entdecken geben: Ob Pkw-Vorführungen, Mitmachaktionen, Probefahrten, Parcours, Sonderschauen, Symposien und Kongresse sowie Besuche von berühmten Motorsportlern und anderen VIPs auf den Ständen der Aussteller – das Angebot der IAA lässt keine Wünsche offen.

Die IAA in Zahlen

Die IAA Pkw ist jedes Mal ein Event der Superlative. Bei der IAA Pkw 2015 präsentieren sich rund 1.100 Aussteller aus 39 Ländern auf 230.000 Quadratmetern Fläche. Mit 219 Weltpremieren konnte sie ihre Position als die internationale Leitmesse für Mobilität weiter ausbauen. Insgesamt fast 932.000 Besucher strömten auf das Messegelände der Mainmetropole. Das Durchschnittsalter lag bei 34 Jahren. Die Hauptmotivation für einen Besuch: „Um Autos zu sehen, die man sonst nicht sieht“.

Einsteigen, mitmachen, erleben

Auf der IAA kann man mehr als nur schauen oder probesitzen: Zahlreiche brandneue Modelle verschiedener Marken stehen für interessierte Besucher zum Probefahren über einen Autobahnabschnitt und durch die Frankfurter Innenstadt bereit. Ein fachkundiger Beifahrer steht für Fragen und Rat zur Seite. Für Pulsbeschleunigung sorgt der anspruchsvolle Offroad-Parcours mit extremen Schräglagen, Buckelpisten und Schlaglochpisten. Am Lenkrad der Geländewagen und SUVs sitzen gestandene Profis.

Und auch bei den zahlreichen Sonderschauen dreht sich natürlich alles um das Thema Auto: Die Ausstellung zum Thema „Die wilden 70er Jahre“ lockt mit einem Streifzug durch die Geschichte und präsentiert zahlreiche Oldtimer. Die beliebte Modellauto-Sammlerbörse „Automania“ am ersten IAA-Wochenende wartet auf Besucher in die faszinierende Welt der Fahrzeuge en miniature einzutauchen. Sie gilt unter Liebhabern und Sammlern klassischer Modellautos europaweit als die Nummer 1 ihrer Art. Die jüngsten IAA-Besucher kommen ebenfalls nicht zu kurz: Ob Kinderkino, Spielplatz oder die kurvenreiche Carrera-Bahn im Großmaßstab für packende Rennduelle – das Rahmenprogramm bietet Kindern und Jugendlichen viel Abwechslung und Spaß. Das komplette Programm zur IAA 2017 finden Sie hier.

Entdecken Sie die New Mobility World 2017

Mit der New Mobility World ist auch wieder das Schaufenster zur Zukunft der Mobilität auf der IAA. Mit den drei Formaten HALL, FORUM und PARCOURS verbindet die NMW bis zum 17. September in Halle 3.1 sowie während der gesamten IAA auf dem zentralen Freigelände „Agora“ zahlreiche Ausstellungen, Konferenzen und Live-Demonstrationen zu einem einzigartigen Erlebnis.

Hier treffen Besucher auf Praktiker und Vordenker von Herstellern und Zulieferer der Automobilindustrie sowie zahlreichen Technologieunternehmen und Start-ups. Vor Ort sind beispielsweise Unternehmen wie Facebook, Kaspersky Lab, BlaBlaCar, IBM, Moia, Siemens, Telekom, SAP oder die Daimler-Töchter Moovel, MyTaxi und Car2Go. Sie präsentieren Praxislösungen und diskutieren zu den Themen Connected Car, automatisiertes Fahren, E-Mobility, Urban Mobility und Mobility Services.

Geschichte der IAA

Die 67. IAA ist nicht etwa die 67. IAA in Frankfurt. Ursprünglich war Berlin der Ort, wo die Öffentlichkeit neue Autos bestaunen konnte. Die erste deutsche Automobilausstellung fand mit der „Auto-Revue“ und genau acht Motorwagen im Berliner Hotel Bristol statt. Bis 1911 folgt dann fast jedes Jahr eine IAA, in den Jahren 1905, 1906 und 1907 sogar jeweils zweimal. Dann unterbricht der Erste Weltkrieg die Fortführung. Nach Kriegsende ist die IAA zunächst eine rein nationale Veranstaltung, auf der erstmals auch Motorräder gezeigt werden. Doch es folgen wieder internationale Automessen – in Köln, Leipzig und Berlin, zum letzten Mal 1939.

In den ersten Jahren nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg werden dann Autos im Rahmen der Exportmesse in Hannover gezeigt. Ein letztes Mal gibt sich Berlin bei der 35. IAA die Ehre; danach ist Frankfurt ungeschlagener Favorit und wird alle zwei Jahre zum Schauplatz für automobile Träume. 1991 sind auf der Autoschau keine Nutzfahrzeuge mehr zu sehen: Der VDA hat sich entschlossen, die Messe aufzuteilen, und zeigt Lkw und Busse ein Jahr später in Hannover. Seitdem gibt es in geraden Jahren die IAA Nutzfahrzeuge in der niedersächsischen Landeshauptstadt zu sehen und in ungeraden Jahren findet die IAA Pkw in Frankfurt am Main statt.

Starten Sie Ihre Karriere auf der IAA

Wer eine Karriere in der Automobilindustrie anstrebt und Kontakte zu hochkarätigen Arbeitgebern sucht, findet in den Ausstellungsbereichen job and career at IAA Pkw 2017 und „AutoBerufe“ für Schüler, Studenten und Fachkräfte eine zentrale Anlaufstelle. Bekannte Unternehmen aus der Branche laden hier zum Vorstellungsgespräch ein und bieten autobegeisterten Bewerbern die Chance, Einblicke in ihr künftiges Arbeitsgebiet zu bekommen. Unter anderem erwartet Interessenten ein tägliches Vortragsprogramm zur beruflichen Weiterentwicklung, eine multimediale Jobwall mit offenen Stellen der Aussteller sowie eine Lounge für Einzelgespräche. Ein Highlight ist auch der Stand von „goING“: Als Initiative des VDA bringt goING Unternehmen mit interessierten Jugendlichen zusammen, um sich über den Ingenieursberuf auszutauschen. Dazu werden auch Teams der Formula Student mit ihren Rennboliden vor Ort sein und Einblicke in die spannende Schnittstelle von Praxis und Theorie geben.

Ticketvorverkauf bereits gestartet

Ein Tagesticket für die IAA 2017 kostet an den Tageskassen 14 Euro, am Wochenende 16 Euro. Die ermäßigten Tickets für Azubis, Schüler und Studenten sowie Teilnehmer am Bundesfreiwilligendienst und Bezieher von ALG II kosten 7,50 Euro mit entsprechendem Nachweis. Das Nachmittagsticket für die Tage vom 18. - 22. September 2017 gibt es ab 15 Uhr für 10 Euro (ermäßigt 4,50 Euro). Wenn Sie die Warteschlangen an den Ticketschaltern umgehen wollen, können Sie vorab hier vorab online Karten kaufen – für zwei Euro günstiger als an der Tageskasse. Der Vorverkauf läuft bereits.

Die IAA 2017 im Netz

Folgen Sie der 67. IAA Pkw unter dem Hashtag #IAA2017 im Social Web und auf unserer Social Wall. Neuigkeiten und Wissenswertes erfahren Sie auch direkt unter @iaamesse auf Twitter oder auf www.fb.com/IAAMesse.